Kiel Marine Science

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Dr. h. c. Thomas Bosch

Am Botanischen Garten 1-9, 24118 Kiel
Phone: +49 431 880-4170
tbosch@zoologie.uni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Dr. med. Markus Bleich

Hermann-Rodewald-Straße 5, R.418
Phone: +49 431 880-2961
Telefax: +49 431 880-4580
m.bleich@physiologie.uni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Dr. Malte Braack

Westring 383, 24118 Kiel
Phone: +49 431 880-7509
Telefax: +49 431 880-5193
braack@math.uni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Gernot Friedrichs

Max-Eyth-Straße 1, 24118 Kiel
Phone: +49 431 880-7742
Telefax: +49 431 880-7743
friedrichs@phc.uni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Stefan Garthe

Hafentörn 1, 25761 Büsum
Phone: +49 4834 604-116
Telefax: +49 4834 604-299
garthe@ftz-west.uni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Stanislav N. Gorb

Am Botanischen Garten 1-9, 24118 Kiel
Phone: +49 431 880-4513
Telefax: +49 431 880-1389
sgorb@zoologie.uni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Dr. Wilhelm Hasselbring

Christian-Albrechts-Platz 4, 24118 Kiel
Phone: +49 431 880-4664
Telefax: +49 431 880-7617
wha@informatik.uni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Frank Kempken

Am Botanischen Garten 1-9, 24118 Kiel
Phone: +49 431 880-4274
Telefax: +49 431 880-4248
fkempken@bot.uni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Dr. Silja Klepp

Ludewig-Meyn-Straße 14, 24098 Kiel
Phone: +49 431 880-56 41
klepp@geographie.uni-kiel.de
Details

Information about Prof. Dr. Silja Klepp

Portrait

Silja Klepp has been a Professor of Human Geography since 2017 and a trained social anthropologist. Her field research experience includes countries such as Kiribati, Vanuatu, New Zealand, Italy, Libya, Malta, and Zambia. In her current research she studies the social and cultural effects of climate change and integrates postcolonial perspectives and social diversity into climate change adaptation. In 2012 she won the Christiane Rajewsky Award of the German Association for Peace and Conflict Studies for her PhD on refugees and European border control in the Mediterranean Sea. Silja Klepp is a member of the German Young Academy of Scientists (Die Junge Akademie).

Research questions

Most of the research of Silja Klepp has focused on human-environment relations and questions of climate change migration and climate change adaptation. Furthermore, she works on migration and refugees in the Mediterranean Sea and European border regimes. Her current research questions are:

  • How can we improve the integration of social and cultural diversity into climate change adaptation?
  • How can we overcome the nature/culture/politics-divide in our work on different environmental problems and what does this mean for political, technical and societal interventions?
  • How can we improve our understanding of questions of climate justice e.g. regarding future generations and people of the global South and what does this mean for our work and for society?

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Sebastian Krastel

Otto-Hahn-Platz 1, 24118 Kiel
Phone: +49 431 880-3914
Telefax: +49 431 880-4432
skrastel@geophysik.uni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Dr. Nele Matz-Lück

Westring 400 (Alte UB), 24118 Kiel
Phone: +49 431 880-2083
Telefax: +49 431 880-1619
nmatz@wsi.uni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Dr. Roberto Mayerle

Hafentörn 1, 25761 Büsum
Phone: +49 4834 604-201
Telefax: +49 4834 604-299
rmayerle@corelab.uni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Dr. Aletta Mondré

Westring 400, 24118 Kiel
Phone: +49 431 880-4377
Telefax: +49 431-880-2483
mondre@politik.uni-kiel.de
Details

Information about Prof. Dr. Aletta Mondré

Portrait

Aletta Mondré studied Political Science at the FU Berlin and the University of Melbourne. She earned her doctorate from the University Bremen in 2012. From 2012 to 2016 she worked as research assistant in the group of International Relations and Development Policy at the University Duisburg-Essen, where she did research on the relationship between international institutions and the politics of states. Since March 2017 she is Professor of Political Science with focus on International Ocean Governance at Kiel University.

Research questions

  • Ocean Governance Architecture
  • Deep sea mining
  • Conflicts over maritime areas

I study how the oceans are governed. Oceans are increasingly divided up in zones, to which different rules apply set by various authorities. At the same time, there are overlapping regulations and gaps in regulation. Many claims to utilizing ocean space are in conflict with each other and competing with sustainable protection of the oceans. These diverging interests are evident in the case of deep sea mining. With my background as an international relations scholar I pay particular attention to the political struggle for setting standards and the interplay between international and national institutions.

Dr. Barbara Neumann

Ludewig-Meyn-Straße 14
Phone: +49 431 880-5319
Telefax: +49 431 880-4658
neumann@geographie.uni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Dr. Konrad Ott

Leibnizstr. 6, 24118 Kiel
Phone: +49 431 880-2822
Telefax: +49 431 880-2828
ott@philsem.uni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Dr. Dieter Piepenburg

Hohenbergstr. 2, 24105 Kiel
Phone: +49 431 600-1264
Telefax: +49 431 600-1671
dpiepenburg@ecology.uni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Dr. Martin F. Quaas

Wilhelm-Seelig-Platz 1, 24118 Kiel
Phone: +49 431 880-3616
Telefax: +49 431 880-3150
quaas@economics.uni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Wolfgang Rabbel

Otto-Hahn-Platz 1, 24098 Kiel
Phone: +49 431 880-3916
Telefax: +49 431 880-4432
wrabbel@geophysik.uni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Dr. Katrin Rehdanz

Wilhelm-Seelig-Platz 1, 24118 Kiel
Phone: +49 431 880 3289
rehdanz@economicsuni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Dr. med. Philip Rosenstiel

Schittenhelmstr. 12, 24105 Kiel
Phone: +49 431 597-5101
Telefax: +49 431 597-2196
p.rosenstiel@mucosa.de
Details

Prof. Dr. Till Requate

Wilhelm-Seelig-Platz 1, 24118 Kiel
Phone: +49 431 880-4424
Telefax: +49 431 880-1618
requate@economics.uni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Priska Schäfer

Ludewig-Meyn-Straße 10, 24098 Kiel
Phone: +49 431 880-2855
Telefax: +49 431 880-5557
ps@gpi.uni-kiel.de
Details

Dr. rer. nat. Jörn Schmidt

Wilhelm-Seelig-Platz 1, 24118 Kiel
Phone: +49 431 880-5632
Telefax: +49 431 880-3150
jschmidt@economics.uni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Ruth Schmitz-Streit

Am Botanischen Garten 1-9, 24118 Kiel
Phone: +49 431 880-4334
Telefax: +49 431 880-2194
rschmitz@ifam.uni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Dr. Birgit Schneider

Ludewig-Meyn-Straße 10, 24118 Kiel
Phone: +49 431 880-3254
Telefax: +49 431 880-1912
bschneider@gpi.uni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Ralph R. Schneider

Phone: +49 431 880-1457
director@kms.uni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Dr. Carsten Schulz

Hermann-Rodewald-Straße 6, 24118 Kiel
Phone: +49 431 880-5388
Telefax: +49 431 880-2588
cschulz@tierzucht.uni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Rüdiger Schulz

Am Botanischen Garten 5, 24118 Kiel
Phone: +49 431 880-4226
Telefax: +49 431 880-1527
rschulz@bot.uni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Dr. Lorenz Schwark

Ludewig-Meyn-Straße 10, 24118 Kiel
Phone: +49 431 880-2850
Telefax: +49 431 880-4376
ls@gpi.uni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Dr. Thomas Slawig

Christian-Albrechts-Platz 4, 24118 Kiel
Phone: +49 431 880-4490
Telefax: +49 431 880-7618
ts@informatik.uni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Anand Srivastav

Christian-Albrechts-Platz 4, 24118 Kiel
Phone: +49 431 880-7252
Telefax: +49 431 880-1725
asr@informatik.uni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Dr. Karl Stattegger

Otto-Hahn-Platz 1, R.115
Phone: +49 431 880-2881
Telefax: +49 431 880-4432
kst@gpi.uni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Horst Sterr, (pens.)

Ludewig-Meyn-Straße 14, R.213
Phone: +49 431 880-2944
Telefax: +49 431 880-4658
sterr@geographie.uni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Athanasios Vafeidis

Ludewig-Meyn-Straße 14, R.210
Phone: +49 431 880-2946
Telefax: +49 431 880-4658
vafeidis@geographie.uni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Dr. Kerstin von der Decken

Westring 400 (Alte UB), 24118 Kiel
Phone: +49 431 880-2149
Telefax: +49 431 880-1619
decken@wsi.uni-kiel.de
Details

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Frank Wuttke

Ludewig-Meyn-Straße 10, 24118 Kiel
Phone: +49 431 880-2840
fw@gpi.uni-kiel.de
Details

Dr. Ulrike Kronfeld-Goharani

Wilhelm-Seelig-Platz 2, 24118 Kiel
Phone: +49 431 880-6332
kronfeld@ips.uni-kiel.de
Details

Current Research

KMS on campus

News

Calendar

« November 2017 »
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su
30 31 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 1 2 3