Kiel Marine Science

Center for Ocean and Society

VilmosVincze_License_CCBY2.0

The Center for Ocean and Society is the cross-faculty research unit of the priority research area Kiel Marine Science (KMS) and will present a significant contribution to the sustainable use of coasts and the ocean. The aim is to link social justice for both present and future generations together with respect for the environment.

Our research areas:

Coastal and marine natural hazards: We focus on coastal hazard assessment by analyzing deformation and controlling factors of slope stability. Our techniques include acoustic imaging (marine 2D/3D seismics, sediment echo-sounder, multibeam bathymetry), UAV (drone) mapping and visualisation of coastal areas and shallow water.

Marine Food Security: Our work is dealing with the question how fisheries assessment and management can move from a single species to multispecies and finally ecosystem approach. An important component is communication between science and stakeholders and how research questions can be developed together with stakeholders..

Economics of marine and coastal resources: Many different groups use marine and coastal resources. Usually, the action of one group impacts the current or future possibilities of other groups. We want to examine how policies impact (economic) trade-offs concerning the use of natural resources and the interests of different resource users. One focus is on technologies and on their potential to aggravate or reduce conflict.  We also consider the role of institutional settings for finding widely accepted ways to manage marine and coastal resources.

How we work:

  • We take a transdisciplinary approach to support evidence-based decision-making.
  • We develop research questions at the interface of societal challenges and state-of-the-art science.
  • We create and maintain a platform for stakeholder dialogue.
  • We design and realize projects in dialogue and in cooperation with different stakeholders.
  • We combine scientific approaches with practical knowledge and experience to develop and assess economically practical, societal acceptable and politically implementable solutions.


Further Information
Website
Factsheet

Contact:

Center for Ocean and Society
Neufeldtstr. 10
24118 Kiel
Phone +49 431 88 067 24

Prof. Dr. Marie-Cathrine Riekhof (Director, Team Leader Economics of Marine and Coastal Resources)
mcriekhof@ae.uni-kiel.de
 

Dr. Felix Groß (Team Leader Natural Hazards of the Coasts and Seas)
felix.gross@ifg.uni-kiel.de
 

Dr. Christian Wagner-Ahlfs (Coordinator for Transdisciplinary Research)
cwagnerahlfs@kms.uni-kiel.de
 

Foto: "Carrying a basket of fish" by Vilmos Vincze (License CCBY2.0)

Current Research

KMS on campus

News

Calendar

« August 2021 »
Mo Tu We Th Fr Sa Su
26 27 28 29 30 31 1
2 3 4
  • 14:30: Launch-Event digiCruise
  • 16:00: Launching Event digiTeachKit
  • Click for details on all 2 events.
5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29
30 31 1 2 3 4 5

Kiel Marine Science

Center for Ocean and Society

VilmosVincze_License_CCBY2.0

Das Center for Ocean and Society möchte als fakultätsübergreifende Plattform des Forschungsschwerpunktes Kiel Marine Science (KMS) einen entscheidenden Beitrag leisten, den nachhaltigen Umgang mit Meeren und Küsten sicherzustellen. Für uns steht im Mittelpunkt, die soziale Gerechtigkeit für heutige und zukünftige Generationen mit Respekt für die Umwelt zu verbinden.


Unsere Forschungsgebiete

Naturgefahren der Küsten und Meere: Wir bewerten die Risiken für Küsten, indem wir Verformungen analysieren und verschiedene Parameter der Hangstabilität kontrollieren. Unsere Techniken umfassen Hydroakustik (Unterwasserseismik 2D/3D, Sedimentecholot, Multibeam-Bathymetrie), UAV-Kartierung mit Drohnen und Visualisierung von Küstengebieten und Flachwasser.

Ernährungssicherheit aus dem Meer: Das klassische Fischereimanagement nimmt jeweils nur eine bestimmte Art in den Fokus. Wir widmen uns der Frage, wie man einen Multispezies-Ansatz und schließlich ein Ökosystemkonzept entwickeln kann. Die Kommunikation zwischen Wissenschaft und Stakeholdern spielt dabei eine wichtige Rolle – bereits bei der Formulierung von relevanten Fragestellungen.

Ökonomie der Meeres- und Küstenressourcen: Viele unterschiedliche Gruppen nutzen Ressourcen der Küsten und Meere. Die Aktivitäten einer Gruppe verändern dabei heutige oder zukünftige Möglichkeiten anderer Gruppen. Wir untersuchen, wie sich politische Regelungen auf den Trade-off zwischen Nutzung und den Interessen verschiedener Anspruchsgruppen auswirken. Ein zentrales Thema ist dabei die Eignung von Technologien und deren Potenzial, Konflikte zu verschärfen oder abzubauen. Auch prüfen wir die Bedeutung von institutionellen Rahmenbedingungen, um weitgehend akzeptierte Wege für das Management von Küsten-  und Meeresressourcen zu finden.

Wie wir arbeiten

  • Wir unterstützen in einem transdisziplinären Ansatz evidenzbasierte Entscheidungsprozesse.
  • Wir entwickeln Forschungsfragen an der Schnittstelle von gesellschaftlichen Herausforderungen und dem aktuellen Stand der Wissenschaft.
  • Wir entwickeln und erhalten ein Forum für den Stakeholder-Dialog.
  • Wir konzipieren und realisieren Projekte im Dialog und in Kooperation mit verschiedenen Interessengruppen.
  • Wir verbinden wissenschaftliche Ansätze mit praktischem Wissen und Erfahrung, um ökonomisch praktikable, gesellschaftlich akzeptierte und politisch umsetzbare Lösungen zu entwickeln und zu bewerten.


Weitere Informationen
Webseite
Factsheet

Kontakt:
Prof. Dr. Marie-Cathrine Riekhof (Direktorin, Teamleitung Ökonomie der Meeres- und Küstenressourcen)
mcriekhof@ae.uni-kiel.de

Dr. Felix Groß (Teamleitung Naturgefahren der Küsten und Meere)
felix.gross@ifg.uni-kiel.de

Dr. Christian Wagner-Ahlfs (Koordinator für transdisziplinäre Forschung)
cwagnerahlfs@kms.uni-kiel.de

Foto: "Carrying a basket of fish" by Vilmos Vincze (License CCBY2.0)

Forschungsmeldungen

KMS auf dem Campus

News

Kalender

« Oktober 2021 »
Mo Di Mi Do Fr Sa So
27 28 29 30 1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30 31